Travel locale menu

Travel account menu

 
 

Saint Andrew Monastery

Saint Andrew Monastery

It is found in Livatho southwest of Saint George’s Castle at Peratata village. It is a very old Byzantine Monastery that was re-established by three nuns namely Magdalini, Benedicte and Leontia. In 1936 princess Roxanne Tsigara, having survived a shipwreck, arrived at the Monastery and decided to stay there and become a nun. She dedicated her big fortune to the Monastery, as well as the foot of Apostle Andrew, that today is saved in the temple. The name of the place, Milapidia, is due to the unique tree species found in the area that comes from cross breeding of apple and pear trees.
A celebration is held at the monastery on November 30th, on Saint Andrew’s day. Moreover, on Friday of Diakainisimos Week, a liturgy is held, and a litany of the Saint’s foot is conducted to Saint Nikolas chapel. After the litany, a feast specially prepared by the Nuns is offered to the visitors.
At the Monastery one can also find the Ecclesiastical Museum established in 1988 that was initially accommodated in the pre-earthquake temple of the monastery that had survived the earthquakes. Later on, and due to lack of space, a new building was constructed, where temples, icons, and other items are exhibited, all tokens of four centuries of religious tradition and ecclesiastical art.
You can visit the Monastery everyday from 70.00 a.m. to 14.00 p.m. and from 17.00 p.m. to 21.00 p.m.
 
Telephones: 26710- 69398 and 26710- 69700

 

Stay at

Lourdata, Livatho
Afrato, Livatho
Afrato, Livatho
Karavados, Livatho
Karavados, Livatho